Sometimes when doing fitness routines, you get in a rut. Sick of the same DVD's, the same running routes, and the same lifting exercises. So, I opted for an "anything goes" type of routine. If I wanted to run, I ran. If I wanted to do an Insanity DVD, I"d do it. If I wanted to lift, I'd lift.
That was pretty much how I handled things the last several months. I attempted to start P90X back in July, but had a back strain and it required a few trips to the chiropractor to get squared away.
It's been a fun summer, and the diet hasn't been as focused as it should be. Lot of cookouts, lot of dogs, burgers, and beer. Summer's over now, so it's time to get cracking again.
I began P90X earlier this week. I'm in very good condition, injury free, and am fired up. Four days into it, things are going well. The nutrition has been easier than I remember it being. Despite "BRINGING IT", I'm not dying through the workouts. Both with Plyometrics and Shoulders/Guns/Ab Ripper X, I did the bonus portion. I even made it through the full 92 minute long Yoga X routine; a DVD I generally fast forward through to make it a 60 minute workout.
I've been doing a lot of thinking about the routine. I might decide to hybrid it. I can't see myself doing Kenpo X. I'd rather do an Insanity routine. If I opt for this, then I may decide to morph straight into a P90X/Insanity hybrid. Here's why:
1.) My body cannot handle Insanity every day for 9 weeks. I unquestionably "dug deeper" earlier this year when I did it. The planks killed my shoulders. Also, when tired, my squat technique was certainly compromised. I do not recommend anyone ever doing the fitness test and a Max Insanity workout on the same day.
2.) Some days, I find it hard to dedicate an hour to a routine. Particularly one like KenpoX, which is drudgery to me. I'm watching the clock in the corner the entire time.
I haven't decided if I will do the hybrid. We'll see how I feel on Saturday, when the time comes.
No comments:
Post a Comment